Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Regional Integration and International Trade

Protocol, Immunities and Privileges Directorate

The Protocol Directorate is headed by the Chief of Protocol and assisted by a dedicated team comprising of a First Secretary, four Second Secretaries and four Supporting Staff (General Service).  

The main activities / services of the Protocol Directorate include among others: 
a. Assistance to Mauritians in distress overseas;

b. Assistance for transfer of mortal remains to and from Mauritius;

c. Visa assistance to general public including students admitted to tertiary institutions abroad;

d. Coordinating requests from Mauritians abroad for official and civil status documents, certificate of character, driving license, etc;

e. Authentication of documents (Apostille) for use overseas;

f. Intervention in case of loss of passports and issue of travel documents to Mauritian nationals;

g. Visa assistance and courtesies to Mauritian delegations proceeding on official missions overseas;

h. Accreditation of Mauritian Ambassadors / Consuls / Honorary Consuls overseas;
i. Accreditation of Foreign Ambassadors/Honorary Consuls in Mauritius;  

j. Protocol Advice and Assistance to the State House, Prime Minister’s Office, Ministries, Parastatal Bodies / Departments, Private Institutions, Religious Bodies, etc. 
Customers range from Mauritian nationals (local & abroad), Foreigners in Mauritius, Ambassadors/Honorary Consuls/Officials/VIPS to Ministries, Parastatal Bodies, International & Regional Organisations, etc.
The contact details of the staff of the Directorate are as follows:


Name ​Title​ Phone No.
Skype​ Email Address​

 Mr B. K. Rudhee, Ambassador

Chief of Protocol(Head of Directorate)
405 2551


​Mr S.Udaiyan ​Minister Counsellor 405 2693
Mrs G.Mootoosamy
First  Secretary
405 2693
Mr M. K.Safee Second Secretary
405 2633

​Mr F.V.Malié ​Second Secretary
405 2305
​Mr Akshay Luv Demunger ​Second Secretary
405 2514